Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 22nd, 2008

Birthday Update!

This morning I woke up late (like I do every Saturday morning) and was immediately greeted with a chorus of “Happy Birthday to you!” Sung in perfect english by the wonderful Spanish family that has been kind enough to take me in for the duration of my European adventure :). It was a wonderful greeting! In Spain, instead of saying “Feliz Cumpleanos”, or “Happy Birthday,” they more commonly say “Felicidades.” So, it’s almost like “Happy Birthday! And congratulations for making it through another year of life!”

I am very excited right now, not only because it’s my birthday, but also because I am so happy to be finally clearing off the cobwebs and dusting of this blog… which has been so sadly neglected for over a month now. Long story short, my computer died a week before I was leaving for Spain, and it wasn’t completely fixed until after I arrived. Then it took over a month to get here, and had to sit in Spanish customs for awhile. But, many phone calls and faxes to the post office and customs office later, here I am with my Mac again. Reunited, and it feels so good. (Although, I did loose my hard drive, so I would love any kind of music donations!)

Ok, now onto Barcelona. Short response: I love it here. Love it love it. 

Long Response:

It has been five weeks since I left California. During these five weeks, I have gone to 20 hours of Spanish lessons per week, taken the train multiple times per day, bought new boots, gone to three different offices to finish my visa documents, had a cold, had the stomach flu, ate some food that did not agree with my stomach, saw Park Guell, the outside of La Sagrada Familia, La Caderal and the Gothic District, walked down Las Rambles, had multiple meals with a wonderful great big Spanish family (with INCREDIBLE food), drank lots of excellent wine and met lots of excellent people. I know this is all so general, in future blogs I promise to be more specific. But I just don’t think I will be able to adquietly cover a whole 5 weeks worth of Barcelona goodness in on post.

But now, oh blog, I have come back to you, and I promise considency.

That’s all for now, until next post! 🙂

Read Full Post »